Week 5: Witches abroad

Image

I remember picking up my first Terry Pratchett book 15 years ago.  At that time I was 11 years old and was just discovering my library at my new school.  Over the course of the next five or six years, I made it my mission to read every discworld book there was.  The variety of the characters, the intricacy of the stories that were woven by Pratchett, the humor that was spread so liberally throughout the books just amazed me.  And witches abroad is one of his best.

The witches of Lancre were always some of my favorite Pratchett characters.  In witches abroad, Nanny Ogg, Magrat, and Granny Weatherwax travel to Genua where they must stop the fairy tale story from happening by preventing the marriage of a servant girl to a prince.  Because the prince isn’t really a prince, and the servant girl isn’t really a servant girl, and because allowing the story to have a happy ending would mean that the evil fairy godmother would win and Granny Weatherwax is a really sore loser.

Along the journey the witches get up to all kinds of shenanigans, Nanny Ogg discovers banana daiquiri’s, Margrat gets really good at turning things into pumpkins and Granny Weatherwax finally gets even with her evil runaway sister.

Reading this book was a little trip down memory lane for me, I have to admit I haven’t really read any of Pratchett’s books for quite a while. Being absolutely obsessed with these books as a teenager they were something that I just sort of grew out of.  The skill of Pratchett’s writing can not be questioned, but the style of the writing, the witty parodies that his books are drenched in  now just feel a little childish to me.

That’s not to say its not a great book, because it really is. Its got everything needed to make a great story and I really enjoyed reading this book again.  Pratchett writes amazingly entertaining books and in the Discworld he has invented a truly special, unique world.  The story draws you into the world and makes you feel a part of it. It was nice to revisit this book from my youth, its just a shame that I don’t feel the same connection with the story that I did all those years ago.

Lynds

x

Leave a Reply

